ISEA Blog

Tools and Techniques for Assessing Energy Yield Potential for Small Wind Turbines -ASES Webinar

01 Sep 2011 9:40 AM | Michelle Hickey
Date: Today, Sep 1, 2011 (11:30am-1pm PT; 12:30 - 2pm MT, 1:30 - 3pm CT; 2:30pm-4:00pm ET)

The webinar will be moderated by Karin Sinclair (SWD co-chair) from NREL. The speaker will be Shawn Shaw, with The Cadmus Group.

During this webinar, Mr. Shaw will discuss some of the challenges of estimating the energy output of small wind turbines. These systems, typically installed at the residential and light commercial scales, do not have the benefit of expensive meteorological studies to make accurate energy yield predictions. Instead, there are various computer models, rules of thumb, and assumptions made to calculate annual energy yield. However, these approaches are not always consistent with actual, measured, performance data. In addition to discussing these general challenges, tools, and techniques, Mr. Shaw will demonstrate the use of online tools, such as the Small Wind Energy Evaluation Tool (SWEET) to improve the accuracy of pre-installation performance predictions.

Webinar Call-in information (No registration required):

https://www.mymeetings.com/nc/join.php?i=PW4096461&p=7825509&t=c
Dial-in Number: 888-995-9569
Passcode: 7825509

Chris Stimpson
Solar Nation Executive Campaigner
chris@solar-nation.org
www.solar-nation.org
720-420-7930
301-956-0303 (m)

 

Copyright © 2009 - 2014  Illinois Solar Energy Association

Home   About Us   Events Calendar   Join ISEA   News   ISEA Blog   Employment

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software