Illinois Renewable Energy Policy

The Illinois Solar Energy Association advocates for the protection and expansion of solar and other renewable energy in Illinois.  ISEA educates and mobilizes our members and the general public on renewable energy policies that affect clean energy development in the State.



2014, 98th Legislative Session



ISEA  Position 

 Chief Sponsor  Title
HB0067 Support Lou Lang 


SB103 Support Michael W. Frerichs  RPS FIX



Support Frank Mautino


HB TBD Support Ann Williams 
SB TBD Support  Daniel Biss     REBATE EXTENSION

2015 Senate Calendar

2015 House Calendar

House Environment & Energy Committee


Chairperson : Cynthia Soto D
Vice-Chairperson : Rita Mayfield D
Republican Spokesperson : Michael W. Tryon R
Member: Edward J. Acevedo D
Member: Adam Brown R
Member: Mike Fortner R
Member: Eddie Lee Jackson, Sr. D
Member: Christian L Mitchell D
Member: Michelle Mussman D
Member: Brandon W. Phelps D
Member: David Reis R
Member: Wayne Rosenthal R
Member: John D. Anthony R
Member: Mike Smiddy D
Member: Kathleen Willis D

Past Legislation

llinois Renewable Portfolio Standard with Solar Ramp Up

SB 3811 - Net Metering
Adds language to provide certainty that all net metering customers as of July 1, 2011 will retain their net metering agreement even if their customer class is later declared competitive.

SB 1652 - ComEd Smart Grid Contains net metering language and distributed  generation installer requirements


HB 6202 - Solar Ramp Up (Effective 8/17/10)

Public Act 096-1436 (HB 5429) - Homeowners Solar Rights Act (Effective 8/17/10)


HB 5147 - Utilities Biomass


SB 583 - PACE Enabling legislation (Effective 1/1/10)


SB 1570 - School Wind/Solar Generator Act (Effective 8/25/09)


Municipal Renewable Energy Ordinances


Model Solar Ordinance 
Created by Center for Climate Change Law at Columbia Law School, August 1, 2011

Model Wind Ordinance 
Created by Center for Climate Change Law at Columbia Law School, January 20, 2011

City of Naperville Small Wind and Solar Renewable Energy Ordinance   Passed 12/21/10

Village of Montgomery Wind Ordinance

Edwardsville Solar & Wind Ordinance

Senate Energy Committee 98th

Chairperson : Mike Jacobs D
Chairperson :
David Koehler D
Member: James F. Clayborne, Jr. D
Member: Jacqueline Y. Collins D
Member: Gary Forby D
Member: Michael W. Frerichs D
Member: Iris Y. Martinez D
Member: Antonio Muñoz D
Member: Michael Noland D
Member: Martin A. Sandoval D
Member: Donne E. Trotter D
Member: Patricia Van Pelt D
Minority Spokesperson:
Sue Rezin R
Member: Kirk W. Dillard R
Member: Karen McConnaughay R
Member: Matt Murphy R
Member: Dale A. Righter R
Member: Chapin Rose R

Additional Resources

Illinois General Assembly - Read legislation, find bill sponsors and status of bill

Illinois Board of Elections - Learn who your legislators are.

Environmental Law & Policy Center - The Midwest’s  public interest environmental legal advocacy and eco-business innovation organization.

The Vote Solar Initiative - Learn about state policies and initiatives, including lobby days.

Illinois Environmental Council - Stay informed on environmental legislation with IEC's bill tracker and
legislative updates.

Sierra Club Illinois - Follow Sierra Clubs environmental legislative goals and activities

Illinois Wind Energy Association - Dedicated to expanding wind power in Illinois

Copyright © 2009 - 2014  Illinois Solar Energy Association

Home   About Us   Events Calendar   Join ISEA   News   ISEA Blog   Employment

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software